Faculty Fellows

Faculty Fellows play an important role in creating an academic presence in the halls. This is achieved through their committed four hours a week in their assigned community by interacting with residents during their planned programs and office hours. Unlike Faculty in Residence, Faculty Fellows do not reside in on-campus housing.

Arnab Banerji, Ph.D. (McKay Hall)

Ph.D. University of Georgia

M.A., B.A. Jadavpur University

Assistant Professor, Theatre Arts

I am an Assistant Professor in the Dept. of Theatre Arts at Loyola Marymount University, Los Angeles where I teach courses on Indian theatre, theatre history, diaspora performance, and dramaturgy. I earned my PhD from the University of Georgia in 2014 specializing in Modern Indian Theatre with an emphasis on Bengali Group Theatre from Kolkata. I have published book reviews and articles in Theatre JournalTDRTheatre SymposiumAsian Theatre Journal, and Southeastern Review of Asian Studies. Previously, I taught at Muhlenberg College and Barnard College, Columbia University. I am a Kolkata native where I worked as a lighting designer, actor, dramaturg, and director. Currently, I am working on translations of plays by Utpal Dutt. Safdar Hashmi, Badal Sircar, Rabindranath Tagore, and Bijan Bhattacharjee. I continue to remain active in the LA Bengali community theatre scene as an actor, director, and designer. I have been the faculty fellow for the McKay community since Fall 2015. I have had a very fruitful time in this position. The faculty fellowship allows me to interact with students outside the classroom and engage with them on a more personal capacity, an opportunity that I truly enjoy. I look forward to serving as a faculty fellow for this upcoming academic year as well. 

Susan Scheibler, Ph.D (East Quad)

Assistant Professor, School of Film and Television